2023 Election

Click Here for Voting Information

This is prepared and paid for by the AFSCME Council 5 PEOPLE Fund, 300 Hardman Ave. S. South St. Paul, MN 55075. It is not coordinated with or approved by any candidate nor is any candidate responsible for it. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.

AFSCME Endorsements

Anoka-Hennepin School Board

  • District 1: Erin Heers-McArdle
  • District 2: Susan Witt
  • District 5: Michelle Langefield

City of Bloomington

  • Mayor: Tim Busse
  • District 1: Dwayne Lowman
  • District 2: Shawn Nelson
  • District 3: Lona Dallessandro
  • District 4: Isaak Rooble
  • At-Large: Chao Moua
  • At-Large: Jenna Carter

City of Brooklyn Park

  • West District: Tony McGarvey

City of Duluth

  • District 5: Janet Kennedy
  • At-Large: Arik Forsman
  • At-Large: Lynn Nephew

Duluth School Board

  • District 2: Sarah Mikesell
  • District 3: Henry Banks

City of Hopkins

  • Mayor: Patrick Hanlon

City of Minneapolis

  • Ward 1: Elliot Payne
  • Ward 3: Michael Rainville
  • Ward 4: LaTrisha Vetaw
  • Ward 7: Scott Graham
  • Ward 8: Andrea Jenkins
  • Ward 9: Jason Chavez
  • Ward 10: Aisha Chugthai
  • Ward 11: Emily Koski
  • Ward 12: Luther Ranheim
  • Ward 13: Linea Palmisano

City of Saint Paul

  • Ward 1: Anika Bowie
  • Ward 2: Rebecca Noecker
  • Ward 4: Mitra Jalali
  • Ward 5: HwaJeong Kim
  • Ward 6: Nelsie Yang

City of St. Anthony

  • Council Member: Dave Collings

Saint Paul School Board

  • At-Large Seat: Carlo Franco (former member of Local 1842)
  • At-Large Seat: Yusef Carrillo
  • At-Large Seat: Erica Valliant
  • At-Large Seat: Zuki Ellis

Find out who represents you here.

This list will continue to be updated.

What is the Endorsement Process?

Regional PEOPLE Committees are made up of rank-and-file and local AFSCME members who ensure all candidates submit a completed questionnaire with answers to questions regarding the shared values of our members. During the screening, members are able to ask questions of the candidates and hold them accountable to our shared values. The PEOPLE Committee then may issue a recommendation for endorsement. Per the Council 5 Constitution, all endorsements are formally approved by the AFSCME Council 5 Executive Board. Federal candidates are approved by our International Union.

Can I participate?

Absolutely! All dues-paying members of AFSCME Council 5 can attend regional PEOPLE Committee screenings with candidates. All attendees will be allowed to ask questions of candidates, but only appointed PEOPLE Committee members may cast a formal vote to endorse/not endorse. These recommendations are then forwarded to the AFSCME Council 5 Executive Board, comprised of members of AFSCME Council 5.

Time Off to Vote

Your employer is required by Minnesota Statute to give you sufficient time off to vote without penalty or loss of pay. If this statute is violated, the employer is guilty of a misdemeanor. Click here to view the statute.